CTBUH President Antony Wood sits on Jury for the International Architectural Design Competition for Nanjing Jiangbei New Financial Center II

21 November 2021, Nanjing

Promotional poster for the design competition.
Review meeting of all eight design competition entries.
Attendees view models of each submission.
Competition entry (c)Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill
Competition entry (c)Archilier
Competition entry (c)Arata Isozaki
Competition entry (c)GOA
Competition entry (c)Buro Ole Scheeren
Competition entry (c)HKS
Competition entry (c)MVRDV
Competition entry (c)SPARK Architects


On 21 November 2021, CTBUH President Antony Wood sat on the jury panel for the International Architectural Design Competition for Nanjing Jiangbei New Financial Center II. As the largest high rise building cluster design competition held in China in 2021, the brief demanded a six-building design of varying heights. More than 30 guests attended the official event organized by Nanjing Jiangbei New District Financial Center Development Co., Ltd., at the Hualuxe Hotel. These attendees included leaders of the local municipality, architectural scholars, and officers from various departments of Jiangbei New Area.

Eight internationally renowned architectural design firms – Archilier, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill, Arata Isozaki, Büro Ole Scheeren, HKS, GOA, MVRDV, and SPARK Architects - presented innovative proposals for Jiangbei New Area, expressing frontier thinking, cultural concepts, composite functions, technical achievements, and street landscapes.

21 November 2021. Attendees explore numerous design proposals and their models.

In the Nanjing Jiangbei New Area, the urban skyline radiates from the central financial center, which is rapidly becoming a high-density urban area in the Nanjing Region. This competition covered the second phase of the CBD development, and the designs submitted for this phase had a maximum height of 350 meters.

After evaluating the plans and their design models, and listening to detailed reports of the eight proposals, Wood and fellow jurors discussed and cast votes, which were then counted by the Nanjing Notary Office. The winner for the 350m, 250m, and 100m towers was Büro Ole Scheeren, the winner for the 200m tower was HKS, and the winner for the two 150m towers was MVRDV.

Read more about Büro Ole Scheeren’s winning design proposal here.

Read more about MVRDV’s winning design proposal here.