2014: Towards Sustainable Vertical Urbanism

3rd Annual CTBUH International Student Design Competition
September 17, 2014

The final rankings in the CTBUH International Student Tall Building Design Competition, sponsored by ISA Architecture, were decided at the 2014 Shanghai Conference.

1st Prize – Clean Air Tower by Alex Balchin from the University of Nottingham

First prize went to the Clean Air Tower by Alex Balchin from the University of Nottingham, a combination of vertical architecture with industrial air-cleaning technologies and self-generated power, making use of the stack effect to clean 8.5 million cubic meters of air per year for residents, office workers and the citizens of Tianjin.

The second prize was awarded to the Vertical Aquaponic Farm by Matthew Humphreys of University of Nottingham, which proposed a framework for vertical farming for a site in Singapore, which imports 97% of its food from abroad.

2nd Prize – Vertical Aquaponic Farm 3rd Prize – Dust-Collecting Skyscraper 4th Prize – Re-Stitching the City 5th Prize Green Valley

Third place went to the Dust-Collecting Skyscraper by Hong Seob Ahn from the University of Seoul, which placed an air purifying system on a high-rise building, cleaning both indoor and outdoor air.

“Re-Stitching the City” by Mikela Marques, Michael Dawson and Clara Senatore from University of the Witswatersrand took fourth place, with its proposal for a 61-story skyscraper / bridge that connects two culturally important Johannesburg neighborhoods segregated by a railway cut.

Fifth prize was awarded to Green Valley by Ran Song, Mengyu Li, Chengxing Hou and Qian Zhang from Chongqing University. This project, set in Hong Kong, integrates the greenery that characterizes the hills around the city into the tall building, blurring the dichotomy between the two.

Projects on display during the Conference The jury deliberates on the five finalists

The competition received 288 submissions from 47 countries. A poster exhibition of the 25 semi-finalists was featured at the conference. The five finalists, selected previously, were transported to Shanghai for the Conference to present to the jury during a special session, with prizes awarded at the Conference Dinner.

Student competition finalists are recognized during the Conference dinner

The competition jury was chaired by Mun Summ Wong, WOHA, and included Malcolm Laverick, AECOM; Luke Leung, SOM; Enfang Liu; ISA Architecture; David Malott, KPF; and Prof. Shiling Zheng, Tongji University.

All 25 Semi-Finalist projects can be viewed in more detail here.