Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH Sydney Hosts Design Excellence: 280 George Street
Wednesday, 20 June 2018

See More on CTBUH Related Events
See More on CTBUH Australia Chapter

Event speakers, left to right: CTBUH Australia Chapter Chair Philip Vivian, Director, Bates Smart; James Fitzpatrick, Partner Fitzpatrick + Partners; Richard Francis-Jones, Design Director, FJMT; Domenic Alvaro, Principal & Director - Australia, Woods Bagot; Stephen Fighera, Partner, CHROFI; Matthew Morel, Director, JPW

SYDNEY – The CTBUH Australia Chapter's Sydney Committee convened its second Design Excellence series event for the year to a sold-out crowd. The event examined the competition entries for the new TOGA (Adina) hotel development at 280 George Street, Sydney, including Johnson Pilton Walker's (JPW) winning scheme.

The event was hosted in the offices of Hassell Sydney, which offered the audience an amphitheatre-like experience. CTBUH Australia Chapter Board Member Clare Swan, Director, Ethos Urban, began the event with a brief introduction and a welcome to country. David Nelson, Design Lead, TOGA, then provided an overview of the project. Next, the architects each presented their concepts and approaches.

The event was sponsored by TOGA, Enstruct Group Pty Ltd, as well as CTBUH yearly sponsor Lendlease Corporation. Presentations were given by Steven Fighera, Partner, CHROFI; James Fitzpatrick, Partner, Fitzpatrick + Partners; CTBUH Australia Chapter Chair Philip Vivian, Director, Bates Smart; Matthew Morel, Director, JPW; Richard Francis-Jones, Design Director, FJMT and Domenic Alvaro, Woods Bagot.

David Nelson, Design Lead, TOGA provides an overview of  the project

The 27-story, 194-room luxury Toga Group Hotel is to be developed next door to Harry Seidler's Australia Square Tower and has been designed in harmony with the neighboring buildings to compliment the historic precinct. The development will consist of leisure facilities such as a pool, terrace, bar, gym, retail and unique sky-top space with an architectural roof feature.

The building is broken into three major sections: ground floor and level one retail; a 12-story base defined by exposed horizontal slab edges and vertical blade elements; and a seven-story golden glazed tower. At each transition, walking columns transfer gravity loads to maximize structural efficiency.

The final hotel will rise 90 meters above George Street and is due for completion in 2019.

Steve Canty AECOM
Glen Daly AECOM
Doug Fletcher AECOM
Glenn Fyvie AECOM
Asher Gehl AECOM
Ken Morkaya AECOM
Gus Nainu AECOM
Craig Rockliff AECOM
Ray Brown Architectus
Terrence Chau Architectus
Daniel Chieng Architectus
Guy Steiner Architectus
Thida Tint Architectus
Ryan Crabbe Arup
Robert Saidman Arup
Hannah Short Arup
Paul Stoller Atelier Ten
Mel Bottle Bates Smart
Emma Harrington Bates Smart
Edwin Lake Bates Smart
Keith Ma Bates Smart
David Strange Bates Smart
Claudia van Velthooven Bates Smart
Philip Vivian Bates Smart
Colby Wright Bates Smart
Gerard Outram Building Studio
Vesna Kocovic Candalepas Associates
John Choi CHROFI
Steven Fighera CHROFI
Hugo Raggett CHROFI
Tai Ropiha CHROFI
Peter Carter Core Project Consulting
Joe Agius Cox Architecture
Rory Brady Cox Architecture
Ramin Jahromi Cox Architecture
Alex Small Cox Architecture
Ross Clarke enstruct
Alan Moore enstruct
Marco Cubillos Ethos Urban
Geordie Gilmour Ethos Urban
Clare Swan Ethos Urban
James Fitzpatrick Fitzpatrick + Partners
Elizabeth Need Fitzpatrick + Partners
Paul Reidy Fitzpatrick + Partners
Richard Francis-Jones fjmt studio
Sean McPeake fjmt studio
Takeru Sato fjmt studio
Chris Heap Ganellen
Tom Donald Grimshaw
Jeff Morgan Grimshaw
Michaela Coe grimshaw architects
Sumedh Kataria Group GSA
Lisa Woods Group GSA
Lisa-Maree Carrigan GroupGSA
Rajat Khanna GroupGSA
Peter McCamley GroupGSA
Supinder Matharu JPW
Matthew Morel JPW
Sarah Sim JPW
Eugene Wu JPW
Thierry lacoste Lacoste+Stevenson
Toni Blume Lendlease
Leone Lorrimer Lorrimer Consulting
Leigh Hanekom MHNDU
Graham Babcock Mott MacDonald
Ben Daykin Mott MacDonald
Stephen Giblett Mott MacDonald
Kieran Hayes Mott MacDonald
Joel Kubo Mott MacDonald
Tony Ridley Mott MacDonald
Julian Parkes Mott MacDonald Aust Pty Ltd
Callum Reid Mott MacDonald Aust Pty Ltd
Vincent Tang Mott MacDonald Aust Pty Ltd
Ron Green Norman Disney & Young
Ian Hanna Norman Disney & Young
Nick Boey Northrop Engineers Pty Ltd
Rory Dale Northrop Engineers Pty Ltd
Isabell Duffy Northrop Engineers Pty Ltd
Nicola Viselli Northrop Engineers Pty Ltd
Justine Anderson panovscott
Vlad Hripac Parkview Group
William Zhang PTC Consulting Engineers
Lewis Pang PTW Architecs
Dorian Brennan PTW Architects
Payal Chaudhari PTW Architects
George Chen PTW Architects
Fay feng PTW Architects
Lillian Gu PTW Architects
Jacob Laird PTW Architects
Karen Le Provost PTW Architects
Alex Lin PTW Architects
Fernando Polo PTW Architects
James Gwynne Renascent
Marc Avery Richard Crookes Constructions
Bill Stavrinos richard crookes constructions
Richard Rigby RLB
David Thompson Rothelowman
Kevin Peddie RWDI
Michael Pieterse RWDI
Rocky Lokeni SAS International
Janette Chow Scott Carver
Sarah Davis Scott Carver
Hon Diec Scott Carver
Jason Haworth Scott Carver
Cassie Withers Scott Carver
Emily French Smart Design Studio
Harald Straatveit Smart Design Studio
Matthias Hollenstein Stewart Hollenstein
Ian Downes TOGA
Nisha Shankar TOGA
Ewa Adamczyk Toga Development & Construction
Steve Boukatos Toga Development & Construction
Anne Ng Toga Development & Construction
Andrew Tompson TSA Management Pty Ltd
Hung Nguyen TTW
Joseph McDonnell Turas Pty Ltd
Yeganeh Atri TURNER
Stephen Cox Turner
Dan Szwaj Turner
James McCarthy Turner Architects
Robert Freestone UNSW
Helen Lochhead UNSW
Phil Oldfield UNSW
Sean Choo Urban Possible
Simon Fleet Urban Possible
Chris Johnson Urban Taskforce
David McCracken Voda Management
Simon Ronald Windtech Consultants Pty Ltd
Nick Truong Windtech Consultants Pty Ltd
Domenic Alvaro Woods Bagot
Jason Fraser Woods Bagot
Lucian Gormley Woods Bagot
Shirley Jahandideh Woods Bagot
Larisa Mos Woods Bagot
Rebecca Fitzgerald WSP
Derek Martin WSP
James McCutcheon WSP
Snezana Pavic WSP
Sam Snutch WSP
Chang Liu Yifang Management
Ken Yang Yifang Management
Holly Huang Yuhu Group