Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH Sydney Design Excellence Series:
One Sydney Park
Wednesday, 28 March 2018

See more on CTBUH Related Events
See more on CTBUH Sydney


SYDNEY – The CTBUH Australia Chapter’s Sydney Committee relaunched its Design Excellence series with an event examining the competition entries for One Sydney Park. Silvester Fuller, MHN Design Union, Make, Sue Barnsley Design, and HPG Australia collaborated on the project.

The event was hosted by Sparke Helmore Lawyers and project developer HPG Australia. CTBUH Sydney Representative Jeff Morgan, Associate Principal, Grimshaw Architects, began the event with a brief introduction. Next, the architects and collaborating landscape architects each presented their concepts and approaches. Presentations were given by Penny Fuller, Founding Partner, Silvester Fuller; Dario Spralja, Principal, Architectus; Neil Hill, Design Director, Woods Bagot, and Simon Lincoln, Partner, Make. 

One Sydney Park is a new 400-unit mixed-use development located on the periphery of Sydney Park. The unique 2.1-hectare site was transformed from a warehousing use, and is situated on the eastern edge of the park, bound to the east by the busy Euston Road. The development encompasses eight low-rise buildings, each containing a mix of one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, along with penthouses and terraces that offer private courtyards and fantastic views of Sydney Park.

The development is bordered by Sydney Park on three sides, and thus offers a unique living experience. Residents will live in close proximity to the St. Peters railway station, just an 11-minute train ride to the Central Business District.

Make created a sophisticated, urbane interior, giving the residences a modern look and feel, with a variety of color schemes available. Floor-to-ceiling windows offer ample natural light, bringing the outdoors in, while natural timber floors bring warmth to the space.

One Sydney Park features world-class retail and dining, rooftop Zen gardens, and a health club with an indoor lap pool, sauna, and steam room. A rentable clubhouse with a large kitchen and dining area, a lounge bar, and a movie screen is perfect for hosting large functions. A community car-share facility and Tesla charging ports are also available.  Residents can live steps away from their new, 44-hectare “backyard,” with a variety of greenery, recreational attractions, and historical landmarks. Even within the development, there are 1.5 hectares of public open space, with indoor and outdoor seating, creating a strong connectivity between the building and plaza.


Andrew Tompson Arcadis
Ray Brown Architectus
Dario Spralja Architectus
Robert Saidman Arup
Sacha Coles Aspect Studios
Greg Shand Barana Group
Philip Vivian Bates Smart
Charlie Peck Brookfield
Mark Maryska CityState Property
Oliver McGeachie CityState Property
Roland Martinez Cottee Parker
Martin Timms Cottee Parker
David Holm Cox
Ramin Jahromi Cox
Alexis Cella Ethos Urban
Jacob Dwyer Ethos Urban
Geordie Gilmour Ethos Urban
Tom Goode Ethos Urban
Remy Miles Ethos Urban
Chris Patfield Ethos Urban
Candice Pon Ethos Urban
Chris Procter Ethos Urban
Kat Roth Ethos Urban
Jo Zhu Ethos Urban
Carl Deng Greentown Australia
Michaela Coe Grimshaw
Jeff Morgan Grimshaw
Christian Thuesen Grimshaw
Iain Stewart Hames Sharley
Giulia Conti HASSELL
Melissa Doherty HASSELL
Yann Frampton HASSELL
Tony Grist HASSELL
Thomas Hale HASSELL
Alena Minaeva HASSELL
Glenn Scott HASSELL
Liz Westgarth HASSELL
Catherine Zhuang HASSELL
Adrian Liu HPG
Yisha Luo HPG
Oscar Mao HPG
Barney Oros HPG
Michael Malak JAPM
Zac Freeburn John Holland
Michela Hamman Leadlease
Georgina Lowry Lendlease
Michelle Mason Lendlease
Tim Davies make Architects
Lucy Feast make Architects
Adam Grice make Architects
Simon Lincoln make Architects
Mehrnoush Rad make Architects
Stefanie Taylor make Architects
Philip Coxall McGregor Coxall
Peter McGregor McGregor Westlake
Liam Hancock MHNDU
James Milligan Milligan Group
Jarrod White Milligan Group
Jessica Borella Mirvac
Adrian Checchin Mirvac
Jeremy Madden Mirvac
Tom Waters Mirvac
Paul Oreshkin MODE
Graham Babcock Mott Macdonald
Haydn Brown Mott Macdonald
Ben Daykin Mott Macdonald
Stephen Giblett Mott Macdonald
Kieran Hayes Mott Macdonald
Angela Ho Mott Macdonald
Callum Reid Mott Macdonald
Tony Ridley Mott Macdonald
Vincent Tang Mott Macdonald
Richard Todd Mott Macdonald
Yan Xuan Mott Macdonald
Jessica Tan PDS Group
Minh Au Plus Architecture
Paul De Sailly Plus Architecture
Amit Julka Plus Architecture
Michael Pachin Plus Architecture
Rido Pin Plus Architecture
Stephen Mee RLB
David Thompson Rothe Lowman
Dean Coulpasis Sansig Capital
Harald Straatveit smart design studio
Theo Casimatis Sparke Helmore
Brent Henderson Sparke Helmore
Wayne Kaplan Sparke Helmore
Bill Kritharas Sparke Helmore
Emanuel Oros Sparke Helmore
Grant Parker Sparke Helmore
Wes Rose Sparke Helmore
Leon Sakaris Sparke Helmore
Matthias Hollenstein Stewart Hollenstein
Felicity Stewart Stewart Hollenstein
Sue Barnsley Sue Barnsley Design
Penny Fuller Sylvester Fuller
Paul Shaw TOGA
Mike Horne Turf Design Studio
Stephen Cox Turner Studio
Sally Gordon Turner Studio
Melissa Koronel Turner Studio
Jessica Lack Turner Studio
Shewanna Mendis Turner Studio
Vanessa Saad Turner Studio
Dan Szwaj Turner Studio
Georgia Jamieson UTS
Neil Hill Woods Bagot
Larisa Mos Woods Bagot