Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter Celebrates with
Year-End Event
Wednesday, 6 December 2017

See more on CTBUH Related Events
See more on CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter

LONDON – The CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter hosted its first annual year-end social event at McQueen in Shoreditch, London. The event was kindly sponsored by Multiplex, Getjar Limited, BG&E, and UHA London, which provided food and drink for over 80 attendees.

Attendees gather at McQueen for the CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter's first annual year-end social event.

The event was a great success, with the informal atmosphere facilitating a wide range of discussions and future collaborations for tall buildings in the United Kingdom. A mix of professionals from all walks of the construction industry were in attendance, from architects and engineers to developers and contractors. Members of the CTBUH spoke about previous events in 2017 and raised awareness of the plans for 2018.

The event concluded a successful year for the CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter, which accomplished several milestones in 2017. Besides hosting events in both London and Manchester, the Chapter also formed a Young Professionals Committee (YPC), a Manchester Committee, and transitioned to a new United Kingdom Chapter Chairman.

The Chapter held several events throughout 2017, including “A Day in the Life of the Shard,” which covered the challenges of operating the tallest building in Western Europe, from its design and construction to its safety and security. Another success in 2017 was the Chapter’s first Manchester event – a rousing debate on the development of Manchester’s urban housing.

This year, the UK YPC formed with the goal of connecting and collaborating with young professionals in the tall building community. The Committee produces educational articles, and creates events that include presentations, panel discussions, and Q&A sessions. The formation of the UK YPC allows for more young professionals in the UK to become actively involved with CTBUH, contribute ideas and research, and become part of the community.

The event celebrates a successful year.
As the CTBUH Chairman role passed to Steve Watts, Partner, alinea Consulting, at the CTBUH 2017 Australia Conference, Javier Quintana de Una, Director, IDOM UK Ltd. filled the position. Quintana de Una has long been involved with CTBUH, as the Spain Representative from 2011-2013, as a member of the Research, Academic and Postgraduate Working Group from 2010-2014, and as a session chair at both the 2015 New York Conference and the 2016 Shenzhen Conference. He became involved with CTBUH in the United Kingdom as a member of the Country Executive Committee in 2015, before becoming Country Chair this year.

Attendees socialize at the networking event.
The Chapter’s event was organized by the United Kingdom Young Professionals Committee, consisting of Marc Easton, Senior Structural Engineer, Arup; Andrew Campbell, Project Manager – New Markets, Multiplex; Thomas Bradley, Project Executive, Lipton Rogers; Carl Giles, Partner, alinea Consulting; Kye Taylor, Principal, BG&E; and Sree Vinayak, Business Analyst, Invennt.

Jeroen Janssen Akt-Uk
William Algaard Arup
Mark Bowers Arup
Tom Clewlow Arup
Tara Clinton Arup
Marc Easton Arup
Jenny Pattison Arup
Ioanna Gati Arup
Edward Gillespy BG&E
Luke Kelly BG&E
Michael Maksour BG&E
Mandeep Singh BG&E
Kye Taylor BG&E
Jakub Wojciechowski BG&E
Kieran Woods BG&E
Conor Meaney BG&E
Brad Beresford BG&E
Ian Bogle Bogle Architects
Chan Meng Buildtall
Kevin Yin BuroHappold Engineering
Sam Wong Careys
Valentina Caoduro CW Contractors
Chris Munn DSA Engineers
Eric Parry Eric Parry Architects
Octavian Gheorghiu Foster + Partners
Luis Arambula Foster + Partners
Milena Stojkovic Foster + Partners
Ross Bennett Getjar Limited
Ross Bennett Getjar Limited
Terry Dywtt Getjar Limited
Daniel Keogh Getjar Limited
Keith Masterson Getjar Limited
Sean Masterson Getjar Limited
Paul Mcnamara Getjar Limited
Nathan Paskell Getjar Limited
Martin Sheehan Graphisoft
Iro Dimitriou IDOM
Yian Jiang IDOM
Javier Quintana IDOM
Ben Pritchard Invennt
Sree Vinayak S Invennt
Peter Palfrey Langan
Cristina Soccorsi Libero
Kristian Krogh Lighting Dresign Collective
Diksha Agarwal Lighting Dresign Collective
Michael Bailey Make Architects
Matthieu Roure Meinhardt
Ali Aydinli Multiplex
Kyle Bradley Multiplex
Andrew Campbell Multiplex
Vijay Patel Multiplex
James Pinkerton NBBJ
Rafael Marks Penoyre Prasad
Vidal Fernandez Diez Rsh-P
Soki So Rsh-P
Chrissy Lemmex RWDI
Ender Ozkan RWDI
Mike Soligo RWDI
Stephan Reinke SCR Architects
Michael Murfin Shangri-La
Gareth Edwards SOM
Jonathan Hayes SOM
Kent Jackson SOM
Dimitris Akritopoulos UHA London
Kunal Dalvi UHA London
Peter Jorgensen UHA London
Giada Nossa UHA London
Ricardo Mateu UHA London
David Dupont Wirthresearch
Rob Rowsell Wirthresearch
Milind Khade Zaha Hadid Architects
Viviana Muscettola Zaha Hadid Architects
Stefano Paiocchi Zaha Hadid Architects