Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH NSW: 60 Martin Place
Design Excellence Competition: 60 Martin Place
March 9, 2016

See more on CTBUH Australia
See more CTBUH related events

SYDNEY – CTBUH’s New South Wales Chapter kicked off 2016 in style with its first an event of the year on Wednesday, March 9th. The purpose of the event was to celebrate the design excellence of Investa Properties’ new tower at 60 Martin Place.

Generously hosted by Allens in their iconic 126 Philip Street office, which is adjacent to the 60 Martin Place site, the venue provided sweeping views of Sydney Harbour and offered attendees an insight into the 60 Martin Place vistas. 
Attendees were treated to presentations by eight of Sydney’s leading architects, who shared an exciting diversity of design concepts for the new tower. Speakers were:

1. Ray Brown, Managing Director, Architectus
2. Philip Vivian, Director, Bates Smart and CTBUH NSW
3. James Fitzpatrick, Managing Partner, Fitzpatrick + Partners
4. Tim Greer, Director, TZG
5. Richard Francis-Jones, Design Director, FJMT
6. Tony Grist, Principal, HASSELL
7. Matthew Pullinger, Principal, HASSELL
8. Graeme Dix, Director, JPW

Ray Brown, Managing
Director, Architectus              

Philip Vivian, Director, Bates Smart/ Thomas Phifer

Tim Greer, Director, TZG (left) and James Fitzpatrick, Managing Partner, Fitzpatrick + Partners/ TZG (right)

Matthew Pullinger, Principal, HASSELL (left) and Tony Grist, Principal, HASSELL (right)

The challenges of integrating the public domain along Martin Place, framing key views east towards Sydney Hospital and the Domain, respecting the Reserve Bank Building and St. Peters Uniting Church, as well as providing flexible, functional office accommodations were all topics that were explored in six diverse presentations.
Graeme Dix, Director, JPW
Richard Francis-Jones, Design Director, FJMT
The sold-out crowd (180 persons) were given an exemplary show focusing on critically examining ways of thinking about design. The 60 Martin Place event sets a new benchmark for the CTBUH’s NSW Chapter in terms of sharing design excellence with the broader Sydney design and development community.

CTBUH NSW would like to thank its sponsors – Brookfield, Schindler, Allens, WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff, and Investa – and speakers for sharing their designs and ideas with the community.
Bates Smart/ Thomas Phifer                 Architectus/ PLP                                              Fitzpatrick+Partners/ TZG
FJMT                                                JPW                                                                   HASSELL
First Last Company
David Caleo AECOM Pty Ltd
Craig Rockliff AECOM Pty Ltd
Dennis Grech AECOM Pty Ltd
Doug Fletcher AECOM Pty Ltd
Ken Morkaya AECOM Pty Ltd
Lester Partridge AECOM Pty Ltd
Stephen Canty AECOM Pty Ltd
Mark Stubbings Allens
Nick Cowie Allens
Paul Lalich Allens
Eve Clark AMP Capital
Jon Lesquerox AMP Capital
Mark Grant AMP Capital
Costas Haramis Aqualand Projects
Greg Woodhams Aqualand Projects
Nick Tobin Aqualand Projects
Colin Odbert Architectus
Darrin Rodrigues Architectus
Hend Sameh Architectus
Luke Johnson Architectus
Michael Clark Architectus
Nico Hillen Architectus
Pushparaj Manoharan Architectus
Ray Brown Architectus
Russell Isaac Cole Architectus
Teasheen Chuah Architectus
Terrence Chau Architectus
Victoria Robinson Architectus
Cameron Dymond Arup
Peter Turner Aurecon
Tony Lavorato Aurecon
Colby Wright Bates Smart
David Strange Bates Smart
Emmy Omagari Bates Smart
Grace Lu Bates Smart
James Moulder Bates Smart
Matthew Allen Bates Smart
Philip Vivian Bates Smart
Stuart Harman Brookfield
Adrian Curtin Candalepas Associates
Felipe Miranda Candalepas Associates
Jemima Retallack Candalepas Associates
Nichole Darke Candalepas Associates
Tom Vandenberg Candalepas Associates
Chris Fisher CBRE
Graham Jahn City Of Sydney
Lawrence Toaldo Conrad Gargett
Leone Lorrimer dwp|suters
Richard Mann Ecosystem Architecture
Jeremy Schluter Elenberg Fraser
Mark Randle Elevated Consulting
James Reynolds enstruct
Liam McCarthy enstruct
Patrick Shephard enstruct
Ross Clarke enstruct
Tim Boulton enstruct
James Fitzpatrick fitzpatrick+partners
Chris Bridge FJMT
Richard Francis-Jones FJMT
Sean McPeake FJMT
Jeff Morgan Grimshaw
Con Haralambis Haralambis Management Pty Ltd
Christian Thuesen HASSELL
Giulia Conti HASSELL
Glenn Scott HASSELL
Guido Rivai HASSELL
Jason Hammond HASSELL
Leo Chandiok HASSELL
Matthew Pullinger HASSELL
Melissa Doherty HASSELL
Murray Duff HASSELL
Stephen Pratt HASSELL
Tony Grist HASSELL
Paul Reidy HDR Rice Daubney
Ronald Wood Innovative Plant Technology
Hugh Irving Investa
Jennifer Relunia Investa
Mark Finch Investa
Mark Tait Investa
Shen Chiu Investa
Brendan Hoskins JBA Urban
Clare Swan JBA Urban
Michael Rowe JBA Urban
Brendan Murray JPW
Graeme Dix JPW
Mat Howard JPW
Matt Morel JPW
Russell White Lend Lease
Kyle Catt Lewis Dunnings
Tomm Lewis Lewis Dunnings
Tony Dunnings Lewis Dunnings
Volkan Guner Lewis Dunnings
Helga Maynier MBMpl
Michael Ross MBMpl
Rochelle Fernandes Mott MacDonald Australia Pty Ltd
Simon Wiltshier Mott MacDonald Australia Pty Ltd
Stephen Giblett Mott MacDonald Australia Pty Ltd
Derek Martin Mott MacDonald Australia Pty Ltd
Tony Ridley Mott MacDonald Australia Pty Ltd
Ian Hanna Norman Disney & Young
Richard Pickering Norman Disney & Young
Ron Green Norman Disney & Young
Monica Desanti Parramatta Council
Heather Webster Prism Facades
Toby Miller Prism Facades
Bill Stavrinos Richard Crookes Constructions
Stephen Mee Rider Levett Bucknall
Tracy Williams Rider Levett Bucknall
David Tregoning Ridley
Gareth Stewart Ridley
Hernan Jerez Ridley
Joshua Ridley Ridley
Ray Singh Ridley
Karl Schottler Schindler
Matthew Robson Schindler
Steve Newton Schindler
Amy Ridley Taylor Thomson Whitting
Barry Young Taylor Thomson Whitting
Michael King Taylor Thomson Whitting
Steve Sablatnig TSA Management
Tim Greer TZG
Philip Oldfield UNSW
Sarah Baker UNSW Faculty of Built Environment
Sergio Petricca V-Arc
Silvia Cupik Woods Bagot
Ben Dedman WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Damien Kenny WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Richard Palmer WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Rob Beck WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Sophie Tepper WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Tim Parker WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Andrew Mather WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Glen Daly WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Levi Chayboub WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Lloyd Wilkinson WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Mark Wang WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Michael Pesch WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Susan Huang WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Taylor Lim WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Thu Pham WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Victoria Leach WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Darren Faugust WT Partnership
Gerry Heaton WT Partnership
Ian French WT Partnership
Kevin Davis WT Partnership
Tim Hartley WT Partnership