Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH United Kingdom Chapter Launches in London
June 17, 2015
See more on CTBUH United Kingdom
See more CTBUH related events
CTBUH United Kingdom’s Executive Committee, from left to right: Temoor Ahmad, Associate, Grimshaw; Ian Skelton, Director, AECOM; Peter Wynne Rees, Professor of Places and City Planning, University College London; Steve Watts, Partner,  Alinea Consulting; Vince Ugarow, Director, Hilson Moran; Cecily Davis, Partner, Field Fisher

LONDON – As the UK enters a renewed period of high-rise development and debate over how to create a high-quality, sustainable urban environment, the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) launched its newest regional chapter at one of London’s oldest tall towers, BT Tower.

CTBUH UK’s Executive committee of Steve WattsAlinea Consulting, Temoor AhmadGrimshaw, Vince UgarowHilson Moran, Peter Rees – University College London, Cecily Davis – Field Fisher, and Ian SkeltonAECOM, welcomed 90 guests at the top of the BT Tower in the year of its 50th anniversary. Guests were greeted with drinks and canapés sponsored by Newforma as well as spectacular views across London’s towers and parks.
BT Tower
Gary Wingrove of BT spoke about the history of the Tower, which until the mid-1990s was a national secret (despite being 189 meters tall) and has been closed to the public since 1981. After the speeches, the floor of the restaurant rotated using the same mechanism that was installed in 1965, taking 22 minutes to complete a full rotation.

CTBUH UK will promote the tall building and urban habitat agenda in London, encouraging debate, producing and disseminating research, and advocating best practices. To achieve this mission, the Chapter will:

Gary Wingrove of BT, speaking on the history of BT

•    Hold panel debates, seminars, building tours, and urban environment tours.
•    Facilitate the exchange of knowledge between tall building professionals to help ensure best practices
•    Ensure that young professionals are encouraged to join the discussion to develop a culture of learning
•    Produce research reports
•    Enter the debate on how to accommodate a city’s commercial and social needs

Name Company
Executive Committee:
Ian Skelton AECOM
Steve Watts Alinea Consulting
Cecily Davis Fieldfisher
Temoor Ahmad Grimshaw
Vince Ugarow Hilson Moran
Peter Rees UCL
Rachel Coleman Alinea Consulting
Robert White CTBUH
Megan Royston Adamson Associates
Alan Tearle Adamson Associates
Albert Williamson-Taylor Williamson-Taylor akt II
Nick Mulholland Alinea Consulting
Andre Gibbs Argent
Damian Eley Arup
Steve McKechnie Arup
Richard Hyams Astudio
Simon Ziegler Blackland Capital
Ian Bogle Bogle Architects
Richard Elliott British Land
Ashley Muldoon Brookfield Multiplex
James Shea Brookfield Multiplex
Louise Dransfield Building Magazine
Iain Withers Building Magazine
Russell Doughty Buro Four
Cormac MacCrann Canary Wharf Contractors Limited
Howard Dawber Canary Wharf Group
Andrew Heath-Richardson Canary Wharf Group Plc
Daniel Kemp Construction News
Marios Pastou Credit Suisse
Elliott Hodges Farshid Moussavi Architecture
John Bowman field fisher
Owen Talfan-Davies field fisher
Kate Allen Financial Times
Nathalie Cochran First Base
Ed Williams Fletcher Priest Architects
Colin Wilson GLA
Hemant Kotak Green Street Advisors
Jolyon Brewis Grimshaw
Keith Brewis Grimshaw
Andrew Byrne Grimshaw
Rebekah Foote Grimshaw
Mark Middleton Grimshaw
Chris Spence Grimshaw
Lakis Pavlou GVA
Nigel Clark Hilson Moran
Alan Cronin Hilson Moran
Caroline Stephens Hilson Moran
Charles Pinchbeck Jones Lang LaSalle
Robert Bevan Journalist
Ruth Slavid Journalist
John Price Keltbray
Katrina Kostic Samen KKS Strategy LLP
Pedro Font KPF
David Scott Laing O'Rourke
Kiran Pawar Land Securities Group
Pippa Burchett Legal & General
Paul Sandilands Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands
Yair Ginor Lipton Rogers Developments LLP
Henrik Foster London & Regional
Nicky Gavron London Assembly
Matt Brown Londonist
Ken Shuttleworth Make
Narihisa Tamura MEC UK Ltd
Michel Mossessian Mossessian Architecture
Paul Turton NatWest
David Lewis nbbj
Norrie Courts Network Rail
Donald Horner Network Rail
Chris Paxman Network Rail
Charles deVoil Newforma
Allen Preger Newforma
Rob Stephen Newforma
Silva Vacheva Newforma
Michael Peskin Osborne
Ian Lyon Oxford Properties
Karen Cook PLP Architecture
Owen Dannatt Qatar National Bank
Tom Sullivan Qatar National Bank
Alex Neale Racepoint
Simon Smithson Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
Julian Clarke Savills
Darren Comber Scott Brownrigg
Richard McCarthy Scott Brownrigg
Flan McNamara Sellar Property Group
Paul Spiller Sir Robert McAlpine Ltd
Paul Heather Skanska
Peter Jackson SOM
Andrew Moore Sweett Group
Lee Campbell TfL
Reza Merchant The Collective
James Scott The Collective
Liz Waller ULI
Oliver Tyler Wilkinson Eyre
Peter Soddy Wirth Research
Bill Price WSP