Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat

CTBUH Annual Awards
With the creation of the new “Urban Habitat Award” in 2014, the CTBUH issues eleven tall building awards annually, as outlined below – nine recognizing excellence in design and construction and two lifetime achievement awards. Following an open call period for nominations, the Council’s Awards Jury selects the winner of each category. The overall "Best Tall Building Worldwide" is selected from the four regional winners and announced at the CTBUH Annual Awards Ceremony & Dinner. Winners and finalists are also featured in the annual CTBUH Awards Book, which is published in conjunction with a major international publisher and distributed internationally each year.


The CTBUH Awards recognize projects and individuals that have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of tall buildings and the urban environment, and that achieve sustainability at the highest and broadest level. The projects must also exhibit processes and/or innovations that have added to the profession of design and enhance the cities and the lives of their inhabitants.

All Past Winners

The CTBUH began issuing its Lynn S. Beedle Award in 2002, its Fazlur R. Khan Medal in 2004, and its Best Tall Building Awards in 2007. View a full archive of all previous CTBUH Awards Winners and Finalists, which include: Dr. Ken Yeang, Norman Foster, Cesar Pelli, Leslie Robertson, William Baker; and buildings such as: Hearst Tower, Shanghai World Financial Center, and the Linked Hybrid building.

Awards Symposiums and Ceremonies

The CTBUH holds a yearly one-day Symposium celebrating the annual Best Tall Building Award Winners and Finalists, followed by a Ceremony & Dinner in the evening. Prior to the introduction of the Awards Symposium in 2010, winners were celebrated at an evening dinner and ceremony.

Submission Process

The Council typically initiates its Call for Awards in the month of March each year. This begins an open submission period where companies can submit their projects for consideration for a CTBUH Award by completing the submission forms. The submission period closes at the end of April, at which time the Awards Jury begins deliberating on the entries received

Awards Book

Award winners and finalists are featured in the annual CTBUH Awards Book, which highlights each project in writing, photographs and drawings. The Awards Book is published in conjunction with a major international publisher and after premiering at the Awards Ceremony & Dinner, is then distributed around the world.

Awards Jury

The Awards Jury is appointed annually to determine the CTBUH Award Winners and Finalists. The Main Jury, led by the Awards Jury Chair, is responsible for determining the year’s regional Best Tall Buildings, 10 Year Award, and Urban Habitat Award winners. The Technical Jury is responsible for selecting the Innovation Award and Performance Award winners, as well as provide technical insights to the Main Jury on the Best Tall Building Finalists.