Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH 3rd Annual Awards, 2004
Award Winners:

Gerald D Hines Leslie E Robertson

Lynn S. Beedle Award
Gerald D. Hines

Hines, USA

Fazlur Khan Medal
Leslie E. Robertson
LERA, New York

The Third Annual Awards Dinner once again returned to the Illinois Institute of Technology’s S. R. Crown Hall where, again, a full house of building professionals came to pay tribute to the 2004 honorees.  The Lynn S. Beedle Achievement Award was presented to Mr. Gerald D. Hines, founder and chairman of Hines, for his extraordinary contributions to the development of tall buildings and to the improvement of the urban environment.  Unable to attend, a taped message by Mr. Hines was viewed and the award was accepted by Mr. C. Kevin Shannahan on his behalf.  

A highlight of this year’s dinner was the establishment of the Fazlur Rahman Khan Medal, created to recognize an individual for his/her demonstrated excellence in design and/or research that has made a significant contribution to a discipline(s) for the design of tall buildings and the built urban environment.  The inaugural medal was presented to Mr. Leslie E. Robertson, director of design for Leslie E. Robertson Associates and former chairman of CTBUH, for his leadership in the structural design of tall buildings.