Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH 1st Annual Awards, 2002
Lynn S. Beedle A dinner to honor CTBUH’s first and only director, Dr. Lynn S. Beedle, became the Council’s First Annual Awards Dinner.  Thought of by then chairman Ron Klemencic, the dinner was held on September 26, 2002 at New York’s Marriott Marquis hotel.  Attended by many friends, colleagues, and the whole Beedle family, the program began with remarks by former chairman R. Shankar Nair; Charles A. DeBenedittis; George Tamaro who, along with his son, was a former student of Dr. Beedle’s; and Dean Mohamed El Aasser of Lehigh University.  In their absence, letters were also read from former chairmen Gilberto do Valle, Ignacio Martin and Leslie E. Robertson.  A highlight of the evening was a very moving video of Dr. Beedle’s life, produced and narrated by his son David.

Serving as founding director of the Council from 1969 until his retirement in 2000, Dr. Beedle authored, co-authored and edited over 200 papers, articles and books, many of which achieved international recognition.  A world traveler, Dr. Beedle presented over 600 lectures at conferences in over 40 countries.

Throughout his career he received many local, national and international awards including ASCE’s E. E. Howard Award, the Franklin Institute Frank P. Brown Medal and the John Fritz Medal; was elected to the National Academy of Engineering; was an Honorary Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineers; and twice received Engineering News-Record’s Construction Engineering Award.  In 1999 he was selected by ENR as one of “125 Top People” since 1874 that had contributed most to the construction industry, and in 2002 received ASCE’s OPAL Award for Lifetime Achievement in Management.

For his 30 years of dedicated service to the Council and contributions to the profession Dr. Beedle was presented with an award which would become known as the “Lynn S. Beedle Achievement Award”.  This unique award, a 10-inch crystal replica of the Council’s new logo, will be presented annually to an individual who has significantly contributed to the betterment of the built environment.