Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH 7th Annual Awards, 2008

Awards Dinner Overview, 20 November 2008

See all the Winners

Shanghai World Financial Center     

The CTBUH named the Shanghai World Financial Center as the 2008 Best Tall Building Overall at the 7th Annual Awards Dinner, held at Crown Hall in Chicago, on the 20th November 2008. The building has become an icon of Shanghai and China, with its clear and elegant form dramatic at all scales through a connection metaphorically of the earth and sky, whilst its structural design is revolutionary.

Tim Johnson quote

Tim Johnson, CTBUH Awards Committee Chairman, outlines the significant achievements of the Shanghai World Financial Center


The award was accepted by Akio Yoshimura, President of the Mori Building Company in Shanghai, owners of the building, and the consultants who made the project happen – Eugene Kohn and William Pedersen of architects Kohn Pedersen Fox and Sawteen See of structural engineers Leslie E. Robertson Associates.

CTBUH Awards Dinner
Akio Yoshimura accepts the award on
behalf of the Shanghai World Financial

  From Left: Antony Wood (CTBUH Executive Director), Tim Johnson (CTBUH Awards Committee Chairman), Akio Yoshimura (Mori Building Company), William Pedersen (KPF), Sawteen See (LERA) and Eugene Kohn (KPF)

There were also four Regional Tall Building Winners awarded on the night –The New York Times Building won the award for Best Tall Building Americas, which was accepted by Glenn Hughes of the New York Times, Erik Volz of Renzo Piano Building Workshop and structural engineers Thornton Tomasetti. 51 Lime Street in London won the award for Best Tall Building Europe, which was accepted by Ian Whitby of Foster + Partners and the Bahrain World Trade Center in Manama was awarded Best Tall Building Middle East & Africa, which was accepted by Shaun Killa of Atkins. The Shanghai World Financial Center was also awarded the title of Best Tall Building Asia & Australasia.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Cesar Pelli of Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects and William F. Baker of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP. Cesar Pelli was awarded the Lynn S. Beedle Award for his dramatic influence on the profession of architecture in creating buildings that are innovative, unique and advance the art and science of tall building design. William F. Baker was awarded the Fazlur Khan Medal because of his extraordinary creativity in structural design and his integrated approach, which has resulted in buildings that simultaneously mesh engineering and architecture to create the building form. Two new CTBUH Fellows were also recognized on the night, Sabah AI Rayes of Pan Arab Consulting Engineers, Kuwait, and James Forbes of Hyder Consulting, Australia.

The dinner itself was a huge success. Held in the atmospheric setting of Mies van der Rohe’s iconic Crown Hall at the Illinois Institute of Technology, it was attended by some 240 individuals from around the globe. Table sponsors included Atkins in conjunction with the Bahrain World Trade Center, Kohn Pedersen Fox in conjunction with the Mori Building Corporation, Thornton Tomasetti in conjunction with the New York Times, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Arup, CS Associates, Gensler, Goettsch Partners, Halvorson and Partners, Illinois Institute of Technology / College of Architecture, KONE, Murphy Jahn, Perkins & Will, The Rise Group and Schirmer Engineering.


CTBUH Journal Article
Winners Press Release
Awards Program
Dinner Attendee List
Awards Dinner Video