Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH 5th Annual Awards, 2006
Award Winners:
Lifetime Acheivement

Ken Yeang Srinivasa ‘Hal’ Iyengar

Lynn S. Beedle Award
Dr. Ken Yeang

Llewelyn Davies Yeang, UK

Fazlur Khan Medal
Srinivasa "Hal" Iyengar
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Chicago, USA

CTBUH Fellows

Henry Jack Cowan
University of Sydney
Charles A. DeBenedittis
Tishman Speyer
New York, USA
Gilberto do Valle
Projest Consultoria e Projetos Ltda
Sao Paulo, Brazil

A. Eugene Kohn
New York, USA

In 2006 the Awards Dinner was held at the Illinois Institute of Technology in conjunction with a CTBUH conference on “
Thinking Outside the Box – Tapered, Tilted, Twisted Tower.”  The Lynn S. Beedle Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Ken Yeang, principal of Llewelyn Davies Yeang (UK) and its sister firm, Hamzah & Yeang (Malaysia). Dr. Yeang was recognized for his work in designing signature green high-performance buildings and master plans, and for his pursuit of an ecological aesthetic in his designs. 

The Fazlur Khan Medal was awarded to Mr. Srinivasa "Hal" Iyengar, retired partner and director of structural engineering of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP. Mr. Iyengar was instrumental in the development of innovative and efficient structural concepts and systems for high-rise, long-span and stadium structures. 

For 2006 the Council was pleased to name several Steering Group members as it’s first-ever CTBUH Fellows. Recognized were past CTBUH chairman Dr. Henry Jack Cowan of the University of Sydney, 2003 Lynn S. Beedle Achievement Award winner Charles A. DeBenedittis of Tishman Speyer Properties, past CTBUH chairman Gilberto do Valle of Projest Consultoria e Projetos Ltda, and A. Eugene Kohn of Kohn Pedersen Fox. Fellows are recognized for their contribution to the Council over an extended period of time, and in recognition of their work and sharing of their knowledge in the design and construction of tall buildings and the urban habitat.

CTBUH chairman David Scott presented Geri Kery, manager of operations for CTBUH, with a crystal bowl from Tiffany’s in recognition of 25 years of service with the Council.