Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH 4th Annual Awards, 2005
Award Winners:

Alan G. Davenport Werner Sobek

Lynn S. Beedle Award
Dr. Alan G. Davenport

BTWL, Canada

Fazlur Khan Medal
Dr. Werner Sobek
Werner Sobek Ingenieure, Germany

The Council’s 7th World Congress, held at New York City’s Marriott Marquis, was the setting for the Fourth Annual Awards Dinner.  Dr. Alan G. Davenport, founder and director of the Boundary Layer Wind Tunnel Laboratory at the University of Western Ontario, received the Lynn S. Beedle Achievement Award for pioneering the application of boundary layer wind tunnels to the design of wind sensitive structures and the description of urban wind climates; and for his contribution to the fields of meteorology, environmental loads, structural dynamics and earthquake loading.

The Fazlur Rahman Khan Medal was presented to Dr. Werner Sobek, director of the Institute for Lightweight Structures and of the Central Laboratory for Structural Engineering at the University of Stuttgart and founder of Werner Sobek Ingenieure.  Dr. Sobek received the award for his ground-breaking structural designs which challenged the typical design norms and for working in a highly collaborative relationship with renowned design architects such as Helmut Jahn. 

The dinner included a tribute to Mr. Norman D. Kurtz, founder and chairman of Flack + Kurtz, who passed away in May, 2005.  Mr. Kurtz worked on numerous high profile building projects including the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; several projects at Canary Wharf in London and the Hearst Headquarters in New York City.  Mr. Kurtz was also an active participant in several CTBUH World Congresses and had been scheduled to present at the 7th World Congress.