Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
CTBUH Australia Hosts Emerging Tech Breakfast in Brisbane
March 5, 2014
See More on the CTBUH Australia Chapter
See More CTBUH Events
BRISBANE - The CTBUH Australia Chapter’s Brisbane Committee held the first of its Emerging Technologies Breakfast Seminars on Wednesday March 5th.  More than 150 people attended the six presentations on 1 William Street, Brisbane – the second-highest number in the chapter’s history.
Chairman John Flynn introducing the speakers
1 William Street, Brisbane
After chairman John Flynn gave a summary of the current news in tall buildings and introduced the speakers, Andrew Henebery of Brookfield Multiplex briefly summarized of the 1 William Street’s interesting facts. Mark Damant of Woods Bagot outlined the master planning, architectural design initiatives and the extremely detailed façade design process. Ross McDonald of Hyder Consulting described the structural engineering challenges, including the design of the 3-meter-by-3.5-meter concrete transfer beams utilized to carry the force of tower columns going through to the basement.
The attendees
Ross McDonald describing the structural engineering.
Warren Barfett of EMF Griffith summarized the mechanical and electrical systems incorporated into this very large building, while Mat Pontin of EMF Griffith outlined the latest ecologically sustainable development (ESD) initiatives that have been incorporated into the state-of-the-art building.

James Grljusich of Brookfield Multiplex explained the very refined methodology that the developer formulated to construct this prominent building.
Attendees listening intently.
Attendees: Name Company
Ross Grayson AURECON
Matt Buckley ACORPP
Tom Dawes AECOM
Derek Forbes AECOM
Greg Hogg AECOM
Carl Krueger AECOM
Phil Latham AECOM
Murray Middleton AMP Capital
Mark Burrows Architectus
Allan Rielly Architectus
Caroline Stalker Architectus
Libby Watson Architectus
Ian Ainsworth ARUP
Craig Gibbons ARUP
Gerrit Lebbink ARUP
Dylan Smith ARUP
David Farah BGE
Mal Graham BGE
Robert West Bonacci Group (Qld)
Tony Avis Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Kevin Clancy Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Patrick Crean Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Lachlan Jones Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Paul Kelly Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Nick Rozis Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Brett Taylor Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Josh Taylor Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
David Teakle Bornhorst + Ward Consulting Engineering
Shaun Stephens Brisbane Airport Corporation
John Gaskin Brookfield Multiplex
James Grljusich Brookfield Multiplex
Andrew Henebery Brookfield Multiplex
Ruiwen Kong Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia
John Flynn CGR AMW
Lada Bodnaruk Conrad Gargett Riddell
Jarrod Dorhom Conrad Gargett Riddell
Anissa Farrell Conrad Gargett Riddell
Christopher Hall-Jordan Conrad Gargett Riddell
Nic Martoo Conrad Gargett Riddell
Rhianna Oxnam Conrad Gargett Riddell
Tanya Syddall Conrad Gargett Riddell
Kim Vojacek Cottee Parker
Brendan Gaffney Cox Architecture
Mark Clements Crone Partners Architects
David Brock Cushway Blackford
David Thomson Cushway Blackford
Ben Hall Deloitte Capland Real Estate Advisory
Philip Windus Deloitte Capland Real Estate Advisory
Malcolm Middleton Department of Housing and Public Works
Russell Lamb Doug Middleton & Associates - DMA
Russell Beatson DWP Suters
Dayna Bojic DWP Suters
Scott Chapple DWP Suters
Cameron Clelland DWP Suters
Chris Kenvyn DWP Suters
Bronwyn Lawler DWP Suters
Jane Sorby DWP Suters
Geoff Street DWP Suters
Ben Taylor DWP Suters
Mason Cowle Ellivo Architects
Daniel Volpato Ellivo Architects
Scott Whiteoak Ellivo Architects
Tanya Zealey Ellivo Architects
Mat Pontin EMF Griffith
Matthew Gaskin Gaskin Construction Services
Bridget Chapple Geyer
Lindsay Nunes Geyer
Matthew Miller Grocon Group
Kirsty Smith Grocon Group
David Whitting Grocon Group
Donna Roffey GWA Bathrooms & Kitchens
Alison Sayce GWA Bathrooms & Kitchens
Flavo Yamauti Hansen Yunken
Andrew Currie Hassell Studio
John Irvine Hassell Studio
Rob Keen Hassell Studio
Sam Weiler Hassell Studio
Hugh Harris HBO+EMTB
Joyce Lee Hyder Consulting
Michael Lindstrom Hyder Consulting
Ross McDonald Hyder Consulting
Aaron Silvester Hyder Consulting
Glen Sorensen Hyder Consulting
Antony Vose Hyder Consulting
Neil Burnell Intelara
Simon Curnick Jacobs - SKM
Paul Hanton Jacobs - SKM
Greg Douglas Laing O'Rourke
Derek Greenough Laing O'Rourke
Henry Unwin Laing O'Rourke
Michael Cilento Lend Lease
Paul Quatermass Lend Lease
Cameron McLean McLean Consult Pty Ltd
Luke Taylor Meinhardt (QLD) P/L
Trevor Barker Mode Design
Justin Morgan Nettleton Tribe Architects
Kymme Laird Neyan Architecture Pty Ltd
Sally McKenzie Neyan Architecture Pty Ltd
Aisling Coughlan Norman Disney & Young
Andrew Gentner Norman Disney & Young
Jamie Hayes Norman Disney & Young
John Iksens Norman Disney & Young
Jonathan McCowen Norman Disney & Young
Evelyn Chamberlain Opus
Drew Gordon Opus
Charles Jetann Opus
Anthony Mallam Opus
Aaron Poole Opus
Sean Stacey Opus
Brian Wooldridge Opus
Michael Moran Philip Chun and Associates
Kevin Acworth Point Project Management
Mahlah Ludekens RecruitR
Simone Roverts RecruitR
Doug Williams Remedial Building Services Australia
Irina Monnier Robert Bird Group
Tom Biggs RTB Holdings
Russell Brothers Russell Brothers
Brett Wilson Stockland
Paul Grehan Telstra
Eric Smith Telstra
Clementine Regnard The Buchan Group
Don Marshall Thomson Adsett
Kane Keefe Tomkins
Ashley White Tomkins
Kim Hayes Turner & Townsend Pty Ltd
Matt Mackey Turner & Townsend Pty Ltd
Ross Meakin University of Queensland
Peter Skinner University of Queensland
Georgie Beedell Vertilux Corporation
Ross Jarden Watpac Construction Pty Ltd
Bradley Ross Watpac Construction Pty Ltd
Mark Damant Woods Bagot
Robert Hopton Woods Bagot
Bronwyn McColl Woods Bagot
Jason Preston Woods Bagot
Jared Chow Zenx Architects